Tempe Auto Repair

Mon - Fri: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM | Sat: 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Badge
5

Exceptionally helpful, thoughtful and professional. Would recommend to anyone and everyone, it is always a relief to find a shop you can trust, and 5 star is that. They rally go above and beyond.

We really appreciate the great review, Randy. Being helpful, thoughtful, and professional is exactly how we strive to be. We're glad you had a great experience, and we look forward to seeing you again next time!

- American Five Star Auto Repair & Transmissions
5

I would recommend American Five Star for services. They explained everything and gave me a chance to see what the problem was so that I could understand. They were very Affordable! I did, however, wait about 2.5 hours for an hour worth of work, even with my appointment but the waiting area was comfortable. I still would recommend them!

Thank you so much, Becca. We appreciate you and look forward to seeing you next time. :-)

- American Five Star Auto Repair & Transmissions
5

Hi, I really appreciate Kathy and Eric and everyone over at American Five Star Auto in Tempe. They fixed my 06 Prius! so far so good and I'm so thankful. Oh and Thanks Tannis, Luv you too.

Thank you so much for the high praise. It means the world to our whole team. Blessings to you and we look forward to seeing you next time. :-)

- American Five Star Auto Repair & Transmissions
4

Always SHOW you the problems with your car.

Thank you for the feedback, Tae! We hope to make your next visit a 5-star experience.

- American Five Star Auto Repair & Transmissions
5

Thank you, Kevin! :-)

- American Five Star Auto Repair & Transmissions
5

Wonderful alignment service on my car and didn’t need the extra parts they thought were necessary so didn’t get an extra charge. Nice up front quality and professional service from both Eric and Kathy. Great business ethic!!! Thank you. MK.

Thank you for your rave review, Michael. Having a great business ethic is what we're all about and we appreciate your support. Have a terrific day!

- American Five Star Auto Repair & Transmissions
5

It's not often you find honest mechanics. But this place leaves room for no confusion! I have had oil changes, alignment adjustment, tire checks, and more at this establishment and always leave relieved. Kathy at the front desk is nothing short of a saint. She is friendly, informed, and honest. I have never felt pushed to make a purchase or maintenance that was not needed. Every cent I spend I know is needed for the life of my car. I really appreciate all of the hard work here and will not only be back myself, but continue to bring business with me!

5

I would recommend American Five Star for services. They explained everything and gave me a chance to see what the problem was so that I could understand. They were very Affordable! I did, however, wait about 2.5 hours for an hour worth of work, even with my appointment but the waiting area was comfortable. I still would recommend them!

Thank you so much, Becca. We appreciate you and look forward to seeing you next time. :-)

- American Five Star Auto Repair & Transmissions
1

I wish that I could rate lower than one star, but this is the absolute worst experience I have ever had repairing my vehicle. As a small business owner, and having been in management for many years I still cannot believe the way I was treated by this place. I brought my vehicle in 2 months ago and had to repair an ignition coil, it was the #3 ignition coil that was misfiring that I have in my paperwork, but apparently they only switched around one coil with another and replaced the #5 coil, totaling to $652. I had the same problem this last week, exactly two months later and brought my vehicle back in thinking it would be under warranty at the time of the first coil, I was NOT recommended to replace ANY other coils including the ORIGINAL COIL 3 that was misfiring in the first place the first time I brought my car in. The second time I brought my vehicle back, they let me know it was coil number 6, and recommended that I replace all the other ones, I will be completely honest that I turned down the work because in the pit of my stomach I felt like I was being taken advantage of, a young, single 30 year old female who does not know much about cars was PERFECT prey for this shop. TWO DAYS LATER COIL NUMBER 3 GOES OUT, when I brought my car back I was obviously upset, to me there is a HUGE difference in making a recommendation and having a coil that had been misfiring since the first time I had brought my car in two months prior. They also tried to recommend a few other things to replace, spark plugs, tune up, etc. but having had felt like the previous job was a rip off I contacted the previous owner of the car who then gave me receipts for all the work that they were telling me I should do, spark plugs, tune up etc. Listening to the mechanics and front desk discuss my vehicle on the second time I was there that week it was VERY CLEAR to me that there had been issues and sounded like a mistake was clearly made on their part, which I COMPLETELY UNDERSTAND MISTAKES HAPPEN. Kathy at the front desk told me they would call me shortly and sort it out. I received a call back letting me know that my car was ready to be picked up, but working the night shift I would not be able to pick it up the next day, which was no problem. I was under the assumption since NO ONE asked or told me what was wrong with the vehicle that whatever work had to be done to correct it would be handled. I went to pick up my vehicle today and they made me pay another $250 for the ORIGINAL COIL THAT WAS MISFIRING TWO MONTHS AGO. They did NOT call me for my consent to work on the vehicle, they just left me a message telling me my car was all set to go. Prior to giving me my bill Kathy told me they tested the other coils and there were good to go and I would not have issues, SO WHY DID THEY TELL ME TO REPLACE ALL OF THEM THE WEEK BEFORE? I spent over $1000 in two months in replacing 3 ignition coils, this third one should have been done by them since they did not repair it correctly the first time since it was their oversight, but they demanded I pay for it and on top of it were SO RUDE, demeaning, and acted as though it was ALL my fault. Everyone I have spoken to, sought advice, or tried to gain other perspective especially in the mechanic world so I could get a better understanding have all told me the same thing, I have been completely ripped off, and targeted for my lack of being able to stick up for myself. I am going to take action now, I will tell everyone I know about how awful this place is, and as silly as it is have reached out to a couple news stations to tell my story and stick up for myself. It might sound silly over $250, but it is not right and this shop should not be able to treat people like this, I should most definitely have been treated with respect not like I was a nuisance. I really wish that I could have left a different review had they rectified the situation and apologized for their oversight instead of remaining blameless and charging me AGAIN.

Hi Crystal, we would never intentionally mislead a customer. Our records show that we had originally quoted you for the replacement of all 6 coils on 7/3/2018 for a total of $1307.52. You decided to just have the one replaced instead and was charged $652.72 for the part and labor. You then came in 2 other times (9/6 and 9/11) to have another coil replaced and we charged $248.81 both times for the part and discounted labor. Our goal is always to have our customers leave happy and we are more than willing to finish the job. If you have additional concerns, please give us a call to discuss this further. (480) 966 - 8181

- American Five Star Auto Repair & Transmissions
5

Thanks for the 5-star review, Karl! See you at the next service. :-)

- American Five Star Auto Repair & Transmissions
If You Are Using A Screen Reader And Are Having Problems Using This Website, please call American Five Star Auto Repair & Transmissions (480) 966-8181 For Assistance.